Orange County Personal Injury Lawyer

Experienced Personal Injury Attorneys in Costa Mesa

Personal Injury cases provide injured victims a powerful tool to recover monetary compensation for injuries caused by another party’s negligence, recklessness or intentional acts. Some examples of these types of cases are: automobile accidents, dog bites, dangerous property (slip & fall), defective products, pedestrian accidents, truck accidents, Uber & Lyft accidents, motorcycle accidents, and wrongful death.

Compensation for an injury includes: “economic damages” such as medical bills, future anticipated medical bills, the victim’s own out of pocket expenses, lost earnings and loss of future earning capacity. It also includes “non-economic damages” otherwise known as pain and suffering.

It is extremely important that when seeking out a personal injury attorney in Orange County, that those victims choose one that is both experienced and well versed in this area of law. The personal injury lawyers at Hicks Law Firm have recovered millions of dollars for Orange County residents from our offices in Costa Mesa. If you or a family member were seriously injured through the negligence or actions of another, contact us today at (949) 541-9944 to schedule a risk-free, no obligation consultation.

There are several important procedures and deadlines that if not properly followed, could ruin that person’s chance of recovery.

California Statute of Limitations for a Personal Injury Claim

California personal injury laws impose strict deadlines for those filing a lawsuit, otherwise known as “Statute of Limitations”. For personal injury, the Statute of Limitations are generally as follows:

  1. Cases brought against individuals or private companies must be brought within 2 years from the date of the incident.
  2. Claims filed against a governmental entity, such as a City, County or State, that victim must file a governmental claims form within 6 months from the date of the incident. If that entity denies that claim, a lawsuit must be filed within 6 months from the date of denial. Essentially, the lawsuit is shortened by 1 year and must be filed within 1 year from the date of the incident.

California is also considered a “comparative fault” state, meaning that an injured victim may still recover a portion of their damages, even if that victim is found to be partially responsible for the incident. As an example, if a victim were awarded $1,000.00, but were found to be 50% responsible for the incident, then that victim can still recover $500.00 for the remaining 50% fault against the other responsible party or parties.

Common Injuries Sustained in Personal Injury Incidents

Many times people are in an accident, or injury-causing incident, they experience one of several different common injuries. These are some of the injuries we see most often:

  • Broken Bones
  • Back Injury
  • Head Injury
  • Brain Injury
  • Lacerations
  • Burns
  • Brain Injury
  • Internal Injury
  • PTSD
  • Spinal Injury

These types of injuries on their own or in conjunction with multiple injuries, can cause life-altering damages that require the assistance of medical doctors, chiropractors and mental health professionals. We can help you find the care you need, and recover the maximum compensation available to pay for these services as well as pain & suffering.

Contact Costa Mesa Personal Injury Lawyer Aaron Hicks at Hicks Law Firm

If you or a loved one has been injured by another party’s acts, then Costa Mesa personal injury lawyer Aaron Hicks at Hicks Law Firm is here to assist you in any way that we can. Our years of experience can guide you through this difficult period and do our very best to attempt to make this process as easy as possible for you, while you recover from your injuries.

We have assisted many injured plaintiffs in California and Tennessee recover millions of dollars in damages over the years and look forward to assisting you. Call (949) 541-9944 or fill out our online contact form so we may discuss your case.

Testimonials